Life

What is happening to the World?

So I went to visit my mom 2 days ago, and as I was lying in her bed scrolling through my Instagram, I came across this post from Jesse Williams @ijessewilliams.

001

I could not believe what I was looking at. I didn’t believe that it was real, so I clicked on #mikebrown to see what it was all about and I could not believe everything that came up. I googled it and still could not believe what I was reading. This poor, innocent young man, Mike Brown, was brutally shot down by the Ferguson police department for what really? It is hard to say what really happened because the police department is not releasing too much information until further investigation. From what I gather, this boy and his friend were walking down the street, minding their own business, when a police officer pulled up next to them and started harassing them according to some witnesses. The boys of course resisted and probably talked back as is their right, seeing as they were not doing anything wrong. This cop decided to get out of the car and proceeded to try to get them in the car. They struggled in the car, a shot was fired. Then, the officer proceeded to shoot him many more times until he was lying on the road dead like an animal. They left his body there for 4 hours. 4 FRICKEN HOURS!!! Laying there like a slaughtered animal. No care to cover him, or give him any shred of dignity.

This is why I ask myself where this world is going. Horrible things like this keep happening and nothing is being done about this. Being black is still so dangerous in the year 2014, not even to mention being a young black man. This scares the shit out of me. Not so much for myself, although I’m sure I should be afraid because of the color of my skin right? But no, not for me, but for my younger brother. He has a God given right to be on this planet and live his life the best way he can just like any other person. Why should I worry about him being the next target because of the color of his skin? Is this what we have “evolved” to? The U.S., the most advanced and tolerant place is the world, just shooting up and killing their young black men. This shit just pisses me the F off. Sorry for the vulgarity, but when the hell is it going to stop? When will they hold someone responsible and make them pay for taking the lives of our fellow men. These are peoples’ babies, brothers, husbands, best friends. They at one point made someone the happiest person in the world, and then one day someone decides that they need to be killed because they are black and have their music on too loud, or decided to defend themselves against bullies, or because of racial profiling, or because they knocked on your door for help. Is this what we have become? This shit is just not ok. I know that I’m going on a rant, but I’m angry as hell and have the right to be. These police officers swear to protect and defend, not kill and beat people.  Everyone in this country, both white and black, should be angry as hell at all of these senseless killings. Unfortunately, I don’t see it stopping any time soon. It’s really sad to say, but it’s very true. We are all people and all part of the human race. No one person’s life is more important than another’s. We all came into this world the same way and all deserve to live in dignity and get out of it peacefully, not be targeted because of the color of our skin. No one should have the right to take someone’s life for whatever stupid reason. This is somebody’s child. This is just not okay.

Anyway, thank you for listening to my rant.

Love always, Weezybaby!

3 thoughts on “What is happening to the World?

Leave a Reply

